JUST BECAUSE…

From a Parent to a Child [Another “Honest Greeting Card” by Paul “Whitberg” Burgess]

“Believe my son, and it will be achieved,”
I said because I wasn’t yet aware
That Sloth incarnate’s what I had conceived
And later reared with love and tender care.
To state the matter in a plainer way:
I didn’t think you’d be a lazy slouch
Who’d pass the whole of ev’ry precious day
Devouring snacks and wearing out my couch.
The time you spend on acting like a fool
Won’t bring you any closer to your dreams.
You’ll never leave the unemployment pool
Until you stop exhausting sofas’ seams.
I’d love to say, “I knew you’d make me proud,”
But lying is a sin that’s not allowed.

6 thoughts on “JUST BECAUSE…

  1. swo8

    Now, now, patiences is need by the parents. Enjoy the sloth, he may surprise you in the end. Some day it will hit him what he wants to become. Unconditional love and blind faith are what’s needed at the moment.
    Leslie

    Like

    Reply
      1. swo8

        I’m the mother of four children. It was not easy but they all survived to become people, whom I not only love, but admire.
        Leslie

        Like

Leave a Reply

